Community Development Block Grant Program

Funds Criteria

The Small Cities Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) Program allows the Department of Commerce to distribute federal funds to Kansas cities and counties looking to improve their community. 

To receive funds, a project must meet at least one of the following federally mandated criteria: 

  • The project benefits low- and moderate-income individuals. 
  • The project removes or prevents slum or blight condition. 
  • The project eliminates an urgent need created by a disaster when local funds are unavailable. 

Eligible Applicants:

All cities and counties in the state with the exception of the following: Kansas City, Overland Park, Manhattan, Lawrence, Topeka, Wichita, Leavenworth and all of Johnson County.


  1.  chat bubbles How can we make this page better for you?
       Tell us.