Click to Home

Go To Search

Agency Newsroom

Posted on: July 18, 2013

Rural Opportunity Zones program expands by 23 counties

The Kansas Department of Commerce has announced that the Rural Opportunity Zones (ROZ) program will expand during Fiscal Year 2014. The expanded program will include 23 additional counties approved to participate in ROZ by the Kansas Legislature during the 2013 session.

“By bringing the Rural Opportunity Zones program to these additional counties, Kansas will be able to expand its efforts to ensure that we have a steady population and strong workforce in rural counties,” said Kansas Commerce Secretary Pat George. “I look forward to working with the newly designated Rural Opportunity Zone counties to help them attract the businesses and workers who will drive our state’s economy forward.”

In 2011, Gov. Sam Brownback and the Legislature established the ROZ program in 50 counties as a means of countering the rural flight that has caused many Kansas counties to lose population over the past several decades. The ROZ program allows qualifying individuals who move to a ROZ county to have their state income taxes waived for up to five years. In addition, counties that opt to partner with the state may offer student loan repayments of up to $15,000.

Grant and Gray counties, two of the newly designated ROZ counties, have already voted to partner with the state in the student loan repayment program.

“We are excited to be included in the recent expansion of the Rural Opportunity Zones program,” said Bob Dale, Grant County Economic Development director. “Grant County commissioners enthusiastically passed the resolution to participate in the student loan repayment option at their first opportunity, and here at Economic Development we already have a ROZ inquiry that looks promising to bring us a new restaurant. It is a great program for rural Kansas.”

Since July 2011, the Department has received 864 applications for participation in the student loan repayment program from residents of 39 states. Applicants represent a wide variety of industries, with education and healthcare as the two largest professions.

For more information about the Rural Opportunity Zones program, please visit

The following counties have been certified by the Legislature as ROZ counties:

Allen, Anderson, Barber, Bourbon, Brown, Chase, Chautauqua, Cheyenne, Clark, Clay, Cloud, Coffey, Comanche, Decatur, Doniphan, Edwards, Elk, Ellsworth, Gove, Graham, Grant, Gray, Greeley, Greenwood, Hamilton, Harper, Haskell, Hodgeman, Jackson, Jewell, Kearny, Kingman, Kiowa, Lane, Lincoln, Linn, Logan, Marion, Marshall, Meade, Mitchell, Morris, Morton, Nemaha, Neosho, Ness, Norton, Osborne, Ottawa, Pawnee, Phillips, Pratt, Rawlins, Republic, Rice, Rooks, Rush, Russell, Scott, Sheridan, Sherman, Smith, Stafford, Stanton, Stevens, Trego, Thomas, Wabaunsee, Wallace, Washington, Wichita, Wilson and Woodson.

Additional information about ROZ
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Email

Other News in Agency Newsroom

Expo for Hispanic small business owners

Posted on: September 26, 2016

2016 KANSASWORKS Statewide Job Fair

Posted on: September 15, 2016

Kansas Hispanic Entrepreneurs Expo

Posted on: November 12, 2015

FABCON Precast expands to Kansas

Posted on: January 14, 2015

kk-electronic expands operations to Lenexa

Posted on: February 13, 2014

Crosswind Petfoods to move to Topeka

Posted on: November 8, 2013

HairUWear will open facility in Lenexa

Posted on: October 14, 2013

CritiTech Expands Into New Headquarters

Posted on: September 16, 2013

MarketSphere plans move to Kansas

Posted on: July 23, 2013

eLuminate Health opens in Leawood

Posted on: February 5, 2013

Telamon to open facility in Kansas City

Posted on: January 31, 2013

GM invests $600 million in Fairfax plant

Posted on: January 28, 2013

Southwest Airlines is coming to Kansas

Posted on: January 13, 2012

Home Contact Us Sitemap Accessibility Copyright Notice Photo Credits Employment
Kansas Department of Commerce, 1000 S.W. Jackson St., Suite 100, Topeka, KS 66612-1354
(785) 296-3481      TTY - 711      Fax (785) 296-5055